Ironman 2014: Championship crowns for Kienle, Carfrae

Sebastian Kienle celebrates his first world championship. (Photo special to Hawaii 24/7 by Chris Stewart)


Sebastian Kienle dominated the 2014 Ironman World Championship presented by GoPro with the third-fastest bike split in championship history to become the first Ironman World Championship victor from Germany since 2006.

Australian Mirinda Carfrae defended her title as she won in dramatic fashion by overcoming a nearly 15-minute deficit on the marathon course, one of the largest such achievements in the championship race’s 36-year history.

Kienle, who began the bike portion of the race in 38th place, turned in an explosive performance on the road to Hawi by clocking the third-best bike time in Ironman World Championship history of 4:20:46.

The 30-year-old German’s 2:54:37 marathon sealed his first Ironman World Championship with a final time of 8:14:18.

Ben Hoffman was the runner up with a time of 8:19:23, the best finish by an American since Chris Lieto’s second place finish in 2006.

Germany’s Jan Frodeno took third in 8:20:32 followed by Andy Potts (USA) in 8:21:38 and Cyril Viennot (FRA) in 8:22:19 to round out the men’s top five.

Defending champion Frederik Van Lierde (BEL) placed eighth in 8:24:11.

A total of 2,187 triathletes started the race. (Photo special to Hawaii 24/7 by Chris Stewart)

Top 10 professional men

 1. Sebastian Kienle DEU 00:54:38 04:20:46 02:54:36 08:14:18
 2. Ben Hoffman USA 00:51:20 04:32:20 02:51:25 08:19:23
 3. Jan Frodeno DEU 00:50:56 04:37:19 02:47:46 08:20:32
 4. Andy Potts USA 00:50:56 04:36:56 02:48:18 08:21:38
 5. Cyril Viennot FRA 00:54:32 04:31:18 02:51:55 08:22:19
 6. Nils Frommhold DEU 00:51:14 04:34:11 02:52:45 08:22:29
 7. Tim Van Berkel AUS 00:51:21 04:36:45 02:50:53 08:23:26
 8. Frederik Van Lierde BEL 00:51:03 04:32:17 02:56:21 08:24:11
 9. Bart Aernouts BEL 00:55:43 04:37:47 02:50:12 08:28:28
 10. Romain Guillaume FRA 00:51:08 04:34:23 02:59:58 08:30:15

The veteran Carfrae won with a time of 9:00:55, marking Carfrae’s second consecutive championship and third overall, to join Chrissie Wellington, Paula Newby-Fraser and Natascha Badmann as the only women to win three or more. C

Carfrae also improved her own marathon course record from 2013 (2:50:38) by finishing the 26.2-mile run in 2:50:26.

Switzerland’s Daniela Ryf, a first-time Ironman World Championship competitor and this year’s Ironman 70.3 World Champion, led the women’s field throughout the day but was finally surpassed by the reigning champion at mile 22 of the marathon, finishing in second in 9:02:57.

Rachel Joyce, of Great Britain, finished just over a minute after Ryf to take third place in 9:04:23.

Fellow Great Briton Jodie Swallow and Switzerland’s Caroline Steffen rounded out the top five of the women’s field with times of 9:10:19 and 9:12:43, respectively.

Cyclists head up Palani Road to start the cycling leg. (Photo special to Hawaii 24/7 by Chris Stewart)

Top 10 professional women

 1. Mirinda Carfrae AUS 01:00:14 05:05:48 02:50:26 09:00:55
 2. Daniela Ryf CHE 00:56:55 04:54:33 03:07:00 09:02:57
 3. Rachel Joyce GBR 00:56:47 04:56:49 03:06:27 09:04:23
 4. Jodie Swallow GBR 00:54:28 05:02:46 03:08:45 09:10:19
 5. Caroline Steffen CHE 00:56:53 05:02:03 03:08:43 09:12:43
 6. Julia Gajer DEU 01:00:17 05:06:13 03:04:39 09:16:58
 7. Liz Lyles USA 01:00:19 05:10:15 03:03:24 09:18:11
 8. Gina Crawford NZL 00:55:04 05:17:30 03:01:49 09:19:21
 9. Mary Beth Ellis USA 00:54:56 05:00:04 03:21:24 09:20:46
 10. Liz Blatchford AUS 00:54:59 05:13:30 03:10:16 09:23:34

A total of 2,187 athletes representing more than 68 countries and 49 states started the 2014 Ironman World Championship presented by GoPro, which consisted of a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike and 26.2-mile run.

The diverse field of competitors included eight-time Olympic medalist in short track speed-skating and BUILT WITH CHOCOLATE MILK athlete, Apolo Ohno who finished with a time of 9:52:27; Italian CART racing legend and Paralympic handcycle champion, Alex Zanardi who finished in 9:47:14; NASA and European Space Agency (ESA) astronauts Chris Cassidy and Luca Parmitano who finished in 10:15:11 and 12:33:42, respectively; and former NFL defensive tackle Don Davey with a time of 13:54:57.

Also among the finishers was Mayor Billy Kenoi, who just beat the 17-hour cutoff. See related story at:…

Triathletes ranging in age from 18 to 84 took on the world’s toughest endurance event, which is the culmination of 35 global Ironman events.

The swim started and finished at Kailua Pier, the bike took cyclists through the lava fields of the Kona and Kohala Coasts and the run course traveled through Kailua-Kona.

Athletes finished the 140.6 miles to the cheers of thousands of spectators on Alii Drive.

Each year, more than 110,000 athletes vie for slots to the Ironman World Championship.

The race offered a professional prize purse of $650,000.

The Emmy Award-winning Ironman World Championship NBC broadcast will air Saturday, Nov. 15.

— Find out more: