Baseball: Waiakea wins Division I state title

Hawaii 24/7 Staff

Waiakea won its first state baseball title Friday evening on Oahu, taking out Baldwin, 5-2.

Waiakea stand-out pitcher Quintin Torres-Costa led his team to the Division I crown by shutting down the Baldwin bats. Torres-Costa struck out 13 batters, including a run of 12 straight strike outs.

Torres-Costa eventually had to leave the game after 6 innings, when he reached the pitch limit. His remarkable effort in the state championship game capped an excellent week for Torres-Costa and earned him the Division I All-Tournament Most Outstanding Player award.

While Torres-Costa was ruling the defense, his teammates took advantage of three Baldwin errors in the 4th inning and added another run in 5th inning.

The Big Island Interscholastic Federation champion finished the season undefeated (20-0) under coach Kevin Yee.

In other Division I action, Hilo rolled over Pearl City, 9-8, for third place and

In Division II, No. 2 Waipahu clipped No. 1 Waimea, 1-0, to win the state crown.

Kamehameha Schools Hawaii lost 12-3 to Maryknoll and had to settle for fourth place overall.

In the Division II consolation bracket, Konawaena romped over Waialua, 15-0, to take fifth place overall.

The 54th Annual DataHouse/HHSAA Baseball State Championships

May 8 (Division I) and May 9 (DII) through May 11, 2012

Les Murakami Stadium, Hans L’Orange Field and Iolani School

Division I All-Tournament Team

INF – Chayce Kaaua, Hilo

INF – Brandon Kaupe, Baldwin

INF – Korin Medeiros, Waiakea

INF – Tyler Tokunaga, Pearl City

OF – Eric Akamine, Castle

OF – Tanner Tokunaga, Pearl City

OF – Kea Vierra, Kailua

C – Kean Wong, Waiakea

P – Quintin Torres-Costa, Waiakea

U – Sumi Pruett, Pearl City

U – Kodi Medeiros, Waiakea

Most Outstanding Player – Quintin Torres-Costa, Waiakea

Division II All-Tournament Team

1B – Brock Ephan, Waimea

2B – Micah Luke, Waipahu

3B – Bronson Pulgados, Kamehameha-Hawaii

SS – Kaelen Hirashiki, Maryknoll

OF – Jed Andrade, Maryknoll

OF – Dominic Morris, Konawaena

OF – Dylan Sugimoto, Waipahu

C – Keanu Dudoit-Isa, Kamehameha-Hawaii

P – Mikeo Rita, Waimea

DH – Matapua Tulafale, Waipahu

U – Drake Yoshioka, Waipahu

U – Bj Freitas, Waimea

Most Outstanding Player – Drake Yoshioka, Waipahu

— Find out more: