Softball: Isle teams stumble at state tourney

Hawaii 24/7 Staff

No. 1 seeds Mid-Pacific and Waimea won the girls softball crowns this weekend on Oahu, in Division I and Division II respectively.

No. 4 seed Hilo was the lone Big Island school in the Division I bracket, losing 14-0 in quarterfinals to Kapolei and taking a second loss, 6-0, to Waianae in the consolation bracket.

In Division II, Kamehameha Schools Hawaii also was thwarted in the quarterfinals, 12-2, by Kauai. The squad also lost its second game in the consolation bracket.

That left Honokaa and Kohala to duke it out for a chance in the final consolation game. Kohala lost to Saint Francis, 9-3, and had to settle for eighth place overall in Division II.

2012 Datahouse Softball Championships

Wednesday, May 2 – Saturday, May 5

Division I: Rainbow Wahine Softball Stadium

Division II: Central Oahu Regional Park & Rainbow Wahine Softball Stadium

HHSAA Softball All-Tournament Teams

Division I All-Tournament Team

(compiled by HHSAA)

INF – Lindsey Matoi, Mid-Pacific

INF – Mysha Sataraka, Punahou

INF – Tasi Docktor, Mid-Pacific

INF – Reina Furuya, Punahou

INF – Mikela Manewa, Kapolei

OF – Daylene Antonio, Campbell

OF – Jessica Arata, Campbell

OF – Stacia-Al Mahoe, Kapolei

C – Nicole Lopez, Mid-Pacific

P – Keiki Carlos, Mid-Pacific

P – Winona Pauline, Kapolei

U – Fahren Glackin, Kamehameha

U – Kayce Konohia, Campbell

Most Outstanding Player

Keiki Carlos, Mid-Pacific

Division II All-Tournament Team

(compiled by HHSAA)

INF – Krysta Kali, Waimea

INF – Daeja Cummings, Kauai

INF – Kyana Hirokane, Kauai

INF – Alexis Paulo-Meyers, Nanakuli

INF – Sienna Santiago, Waimea

OF – Tiana Cocker, Kalaheo

OF – Gaylan “Ulu” Matagiese, Waimea

C – Taylor Ephan, Waimea

P – Chyanne Koko, Nanakuli

P – Deannalyn Tafiti, Waimea

Co-Most Outstanding Player

Gaylan “Ulu” Matagiese, Waimea, and

Alexis Paulo-Meyers, Nanakuli

— Find out more: